Fall, depression and Nicholas Cage

With the arrival of fall my mind is collecting all sorts of depressing thoughts (most of which can be summarized by the title of the Stephen King short story “All That You Love Will Be Carried Away”). But let’s just not go there, shall we? Is it OK if we don’t? And anyway, I would have come to this conclusion: yes, everything is impermanent, and yes, life is fleeting, so we must therefore “kiss the joy as it flies,” we must – as some zen person once said – imagine our beloved glass as already broken, and consequently enjoy the glass all the more while it is unbroken.

So let’s talk about Nicholas Cage. Let’s talk about four movies he was in that I really liked. Not because I am a Nicholas Cage fan, but because sometimes when life says to you, “Hey, buddy, do you realize how fragile all this is, and how one day you can wake up with the rug being jerked out from under you?” you have to pretend not to hear that voice. You just need to hear the word “rug” and think of “The Big Lebowski” and smile. Though of course Nicholas Cage was not in that movie, unless he was hiding somewhere in the Dude’s beard.

So here are four Nicholas Cage movies I liked (not to say I didn’t like others):

1. “Raising Arizona.” There was a point in my life (early teens) when I had almost every line of this movie memorized. (Parole Board chairman: You’re not just telling us what we want to hear? H.I.: No, sir, no way. Parole Board member: ‘Cause we just want to hear the truth. H.I.: Well, then I guess I am telling you what you want to hear. Parole Board chairman: Boy, didn’t we just tell you not to do that? H.I.: Yes, sir. Parole Board chairman: Okay, then.)

2. “Wild at Heart.” Like most Lynch movies, low on the sense-making scale but high on the memorable characters and lines scale. How could I not like Sailor telling Lula that she was “dangerously cute”?

3. “Bringing out the Dead.” With my caffeine, alcohol, sugar, chocolate and Swedish snus, I can relate to Frank the ambulance driver’s attempts at self medication, his “cure” that is not working. A great movie about people saving themselves and others.

4. “City of Angels.” Seth, an angel, meets people right after they have died and asks them what their favorite part of life was. At the beginning of the movie a little girl answers: pajamas. Isn’t that just wonderful while it breaks your heart at the same time?

Dammit, I’m right back where I was when I started this entry, haha, thinking of love, life and loss. Perhaps the best thing to do with these things is to put them in front of the television while you make yourself a sandwich in the kitchen. Then when the weather is nicer, you can all go outside and play.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Fall, depression and Nicholas Cage”

  1. chumpchange Says:

    Oh Come ON! The rock is one of this best ones!

  2. megan Says:

    Since we’re bringing up movies you didn’t list, I feel obligated to mention one of my favorite movies of all time, Moonstruck. I’m not a Nicholas Cage fan in the slightest, but I thought he was brilliant as Ronny Cammareri.

  3. sarahcentric Says:

    Ohhh, man…nice to hear that I’m not the only one who fell into the Fall pits. You may remember I was seriously considering a brain transplant a couple of entries back;-)

    I don’t think it’s depression that we’re going through really. It’s more like a melancholy, right? The whole situation is so bittersweet. The changing leaves/foliage … so crazy beautiful you think your eyes might melt just staring at it. But at the same time, this poor tree you’re freaking out about is going to be bare, sad and nearly dead soon. So of course you are going to start thinking about all of those friends, loves, moments that were here and gone. How could you not? There are leaves changing right in front of your face!

    Uhhhhh, crazy. I think your best hope is to get as settled and comfy as possible. Remind yourself that you can handle, and even enjoy, all of the change. Some great moments have passed, and you can miss and love them. But there are certainly more excellent moments to come, so you can prepare yourself for that at the same time.

    OMG, I have gone on for way too long! Sorry, I’m working on a fall post myself. Guess I can’t get it out of my brain! Anyway, hope something was useful here. I’m a native Northeastern’er, so I’m a Fall professional. Not sure what the fall is like in Sweden;-)

    -Sarah

  4. Susan Says:

    The Rock…. and Con Air!!! omg! How coudl you leave out Con Air?
    Did I capitallize those correctly? It wasn’t one word was it? Did anything have an “e” at the beginning?

    yes, I realize I effed up “could”, but I don’t care. I won’t fix it. it’s a typo.

    I’m not fixing anything.

Leave a Reply

